of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.

The Council analyzes the national economy and its various segments; advises the President on economic developments; appraises the economic programs and policies of the Federal

Government; recommends to the President policies for economic growth and stability; assists in the preparation of the economic reports of the President to the Congress; and prepares the Annual Report of the Council of Economic Advisers.

For further information, contact the Council of Economic Advisers, Room 60, Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502. Phone, 202-395-5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/cea.

Council on Environmental Quality

722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503 Phone, 202-395-5750 or 202-456-6224. Fax, 202-456-2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/ ceq.

Chairman Chief of Staff PHILIP COONEY Associate Director for Congressional Affairs **DEB FIDDELKE** Associate Director for Public Affairs Dana Perino Associate Director for Agriculture, Public DAVID ANDERSON

Lands and Coastal Affairs General Counsel Deputy General Counsel

Associate Director for NEPA Oversight Associate Director for Sustainable

Development

Associate Director for Natural Resources Associate Director for Environmental Policy Associate Director for Global Environmental **Affairs**

Associate Director for Toxics and **Environmental Protection**

JAMES CONNAUGHTON

Dinah Bear **EDWARD BOLING** HORST GRECZMIEL ALAN HECHT

WILLIAM LEARY KAMERAN ONLEY KENNETH PEEL

ELIZABETH STOLPE

The Council on Environmental Quality formulates and recommends national policies to promote the improvement of the quality of the environment.

The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) was established within the Executive Office of the President by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) (42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq.). The Environmental Quality Improvement Act of 1970 (42 U.S.C. 4371 et seq.) established the Office of Environmental Quality (OEQ) to provide professional and administrative support for the Council. The Council and OEO are collectively referred to as the Council on Environmental Quality, and the CEQ

Chair, who is appointed by the President, serves as the Director of OEQ.

The Council develops policies which bring into productive harmony the Nation's social, economic, and environmental priorities, with the goal of improving the quality of Federal decisionmaking. As required by NEPA, CEQ evaluates, coordinates, and mediates Federal activities; advises and assists the President on both national and international environmental policy matters; and prepares the President's annual environmental quality report to

Congress. In addition, it oversees Federal agency and department implementation of NEPA.

For further information, contact the Information Office, Council on Environmental Quality, 722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503. Phone, 202–395–5750. Fax, 202–456–2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/ceq.

National Security Council

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504 Phone, 202–456–1414

Members:

The President GEORGE W. BUSH
The Vice President DICK CHENEY
The Secretary of State COLIN L. POWELL
The Secretary of Defense DONALD H. RUMSFELD

Statutory Advisers:

Director of Central Intelligence GEORGE J. TENET

Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. RICHARD B. MYERS, USAF

Standing Participants:

The Secretary of the Treasury
U.S. Representative to the United Nations
Chief of Staff to the President
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
Assistant to the President for National Security
JOHN W. SNOW
JOHN D. NEGROPONTE
ANDREW H. CARD, JR.
CONDOLEEZZA RICE

Affairs

Assistant to the President for Economic Policy STEPHEN FRIEDMAN

Officials:

Assistant to the President for National Security Condoleezza Rice Affairs

Assistant to the President for National Security STEVEN HADLEY

Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs and Deputy National Security

Adviser

Executive Secretary GREGORY SCHULTE

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.).

The National Security Council is chaired by the President. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is the statutory military adviser to the

Council, and the Director of Central Intelligence is its intelligence adviser. The Secretary of the Treasury, the U.S. Representative to the United Nations, the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, and the Chief of Staff to the President are invited to all meetings of the Council. The Attorney General and the Director of National Drug Control Policy are invited to attend meetings pertaining to their