Office of the Vice President of the United States

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20501 Phone, 202–456–2326

Assistant to the President, Chief of Staff to the Vice President, and Assistant to the Vice	I. Lewis Libby
President for National Security Affairs Assistant to the President and Counselor to the Vice President	Mary J. Matalin
Counsel to the Vice President	David Addington
Principal Deputy Assistant to the Vice President for National Security Affairs	Eric Edelman
Deputy Chief of Staff to the Vice President	C. Dean McGrath
Assistant to the Vice President for Legislative Affairs	Nancy Dorn
Assistant to the Vice President for Domestic Policy	Cesar Conda
Executive Director of the National Energy Policy Development Group	Andrew Lundquist
Executive Assistant to the Vice President	Debra Heiden
Deputy Assistant to the Vice President for Operations	Claire O'Donnell
Assistant to the Vice President and Chief of Staff to Mrs. Cheney	Debra Dunn
Deputy Assistant to the Vice President for Scheduling	Elizabeth Kleppe
Director of Correspondence for the Vice President	Cecelia Boyer

The Office of the Vice President serves the Vice President in the performance of the many detailed activities incident to his immediate office.

Council of Economic Advisers

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502 Phone, 202–395–5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/cea.

Chairman	N. Gregory Mankiw
Members	Randall S. Kroszner, (vacancy)
Chief of Staff	Phillip L. Swagel

The Council of Economic Advisers primarily performs an analysis and appraisal of the national economy for the purpose of providing policy recommendations to the President.

The Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) was established in the Executive Office of the President by the Employment Act of 1946 (15 U.S.C. 1023). It now functions under that statute and

Reorganization Plan No. 9 of 1953 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective August 1, 1953.

The Council consists of three members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. One

91

92 U.S. GOVERNMENT MANUAL

of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.

The Council analyzes the national economy and its various segments; advises the President on economic developments; appraises the economic programs and policies of the Federal Government; recommends to the President policies for economic growth and stability; assists in the preparation of the economic reports of the President to the Congress; and prepares the Annual Report of the Council of Economic Advisers.

For further information, contact the Council of Economic Advisers, Room 60, Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20502. Phone, 202–395–5084. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/cea.

Council on Environmental Quality

722 Jackson Place NW., Washington, DC 20503 Phone, 202–395–5750 or 202–456–6224. Fax, 202–456–2710. Internet, www.whitehouse.gov/ ceq.

Chairman	James Connaughton
Chief of Staff	Philip Cooney
Associate Director for Congressional Affairs	Deb Fiddelke
Associate Director for Public Affairs	Dana Perino
Associate Director for Agriculture, Public	David Anderson
Lands and Coastal Affairs	
General Counsel	Dinah Bear
Deputy General Counsel	Edward Boling
Associate Director for NEPA Oversight	Horst Greczmiel
Associate Director for Sustainable	Alan Hecht
Development	
Associate Director for Natural Resources	William Leary
Associate Director for Environmental Policy	Kameran Onley
Associate Director for Global Environmental	Kenneth Peel
Affairs	
Associate Director for Toxics and	Elizabeth Stolpe
Environmental Protection	

The Council on Environmental Quality formulates and recommends national policies to promote the improvement of the quality of the environment.

The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) was established within the Executive Office of the President by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA) (42 U.S.C. 4321 *et seq.*). The Environmental Quality Improvement Act of 1970 (42 U.S.C. 4371 *et seq.*) established the Office of Environmental Quality (OEQ) to provide professional and administrative support for the Council. The Council and OEQ are collectively referred to as the Council on Environmental Quality, and the CEQ Chair, who is appointed by the President, serves as the Director of OEQ.

The Council develops policies which bring into productive harmony the Nation's social, economic, and environmental priorities, with the goal of improving the quality of Federal decisionmaking. As required by NEPA, CEQ evaluates, coordinates, and mediates Federal activities; advises and assists the President on both national and international environmental policy matters; and prepares the President's annual environmental quality report to